Christian meditation

A follower on twitter confronted me with a question, “Hello. What is meditation? How do I meditate? Thanks.” Well, at first I did not know how to reply but I trusted God for answer. So today, I’m posting the brief answers I gave to him.

Christian meditation is to be solely on the Word of God and what it reveals about Him.

David found this to be so, and he describes the man who is “blessed” as one whose “delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night” (Psalm 1:2).

True Christian meditation is an active thought process whereby we give ourselves to the study of the Word, praying over it and asking God to give us understanding by the Spirit, who has promised to lead us “into all truth” (John 16:13).

Then we put this truth into practice, committing ourselves to the Scriptures as the rule for life and practice as we go about our daily activities. This causes spiritual growth and maturing in the things of God as we are taught by His Holy Spirit.

Meditating helps to prevent us from sinning against God and 90% of every time it has worked for me… King David in his own words said, in Psalm 119:11 NIV “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” What did he mean by hiding God’s word in his heart?? It means he meditated. We can confirm this in Psalm 19:14 “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.”

Now that we know what meditation is all about or to those who may have known before now, what we need to do is watch what we meditate upon so it will not bring dishonour unto God. We need to say a prayer like King David, “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight” so that God can guide our hearts towards the right things to meditate upon in other to please Him.

GOD BLESS YOU!!

4 responses to “Christian meditation

Leave a Reply

